File: README

package info (click to toggle)
atftp 0.7.dfsg-6
  • links: PTS
  • area: main
  • in suites: lenny
  • size: 1,144 kB
  • ctags: 538
  • sloc: ansic: 6,384; sh: 3,892; makefile: 81
file content (47 lines) | stat: -rw-r--r-- 1,829 bytes parent folder | download | duplicates (5)
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
    Jean-Pierre Lefebvre <helix@step.polymtl.ca>
    August 20th, 2000
    -----------------

atftp stands for Advanced Trivial File Transfer Protocol. It is called
"advanced", by contrast to others TFTP servers, for two reasons.
Firstly, it is intended to be fully compliant with all related
RFCs. This include RFC1350, RFC2090, RFC2347, RFC2348 and RFC2349. To
my knowledge, there is no TFTP server currently available in the
public domain that fulfills this requirement. Secondly, atftp is
intended for serving boot files to large clusters. It is
multi-threaded and support multicast (RFC2090 and PXE), allowing
faster boot of hundreds of machine simultaneously.

I started writing the atftp server after trying to boot Debian from
the LAN using pxelinux (distributed with syslinux). Since pxelinux
needs support for the "tsize" option defined in RFC2349, I looked for
different TFTP servers but found none that fulfilled my needs.

With atftp, I have successfully used pxelinux and dhcpd to boot from
the LAN. Unfortunately, new development will slow down since I do it
on my spare time and atftp now does what I need.  However, atftp is
actively maintained. Comments, bug reports and patches are welcome.

Great thanks to my brother Remi who works on the client and server
implementation and the debian packaging.


    Authors
    -------

Jean-Pierre Lefebvre	<helix@step.polymtl.ca>
Remi Lefebvre		<remi@debian.org>


    Contributors
    ------------

Jeff Miller		<jeff.miller@transact.com.au>
Leif Lindholm		<leif.lindholm@i3micro.com>
Jens Schmidt		<Jens.A.Schmidt@dxd.ericsson.se>
Svend Odgaard		<Svend.Odgaard@dxd.ericsson.se>
Joshua Aune		<luken@linuxnetworx.com>
Mario Lorenz		<Mario.Lorenz@km3.de>
Allen Reese		<areese@lnxi.com>
Thayne Harbaugh		<tharbaugh@lnxi.com>
Thomas Anders		<thomas.anders@blue-cable.de>