File: darkice.1

package info (click to toggle)
darkice 1.2-0.2
  • links: PTS
  • area: main
  • in suites: jessie, jessie-kfreebsd
  • size: 2,084 kB
  • ctags: 1,151
  • sloc: cpp: 31,971; sh: 11,324; makefile: 108
file content (160 lines) | stat: -rw-r--r-- 3,719 bytes parent folder | download | duplicates (4)
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129
130
131
132
133
134
135
136
137
138
139
140
141
142
143
144
145
146
147
148
149
150
151
152
153
154
155
156
157
158
159
160
.TH darkice 1 "November 20, 2007" "DarkIce" "DarkIce live audio streamer"
.SH NAME
darkice \- an icecast / shoutcast live audio streamer
.SH SYNOPSIS
.B darkice
[options] -c config.file
.SH DESCRIPTION
.PP
DarkIce as a live audio streamer. It records audio from an audio interface (e.g. sound card), encodes it and sends it to a streaming server.
DarkIce can record from:

    * OSS audio devices
    * ALSA audio devices
    * Solaris audio interface
    * Jack sources
    * PulseAudio sources

DarkIce can encode in the following formats:

    * mp3 - using the lame library
    * mp2 - using the twolame library
    * Ogg Vorbis
    * Ogg Opus
    * AAC - using the faac library
    * AAC HEv2 - using the libaacplus (3GPP reference code)

DarkIce can send the encoded stream to the following streaming servers:

    * ShoutCast
    * IceCast 1.3.x and 2.x
    * Darwin Streaming Server

Darkice runs on the following operating systems:

    * FreeBSD
    * Linux on intel and PowerPC
    * MacOS X
    * NetBSD / OpenBSD
    * SUN Solaris

.B DarkIce
uses
.SM POSIX
real-time scheduling to keep up with sound card input.
.SM POSIX
real-time scheduling is only available if the program is run as root.
Therefore it is recommended that
.B DarkIce
is run as root.

.SH OPTIONS
.TP
.BI "\-c " config.file
Specifies what configuration file to use.
If not specified, /etc/darkice.cfg will be used.

.TP
.BI "\-v " n
Sets the verbosity level, between 0 and 10. 0 is silent, 10 is loud.
Defaults to 1.

.TP
.BI "\-h "
Prints the help page and exits.


.SH BUGS
.PP
Lots of bugs.


.SH "SEE ALSO"
darkice.cfg(5)


.SH AUTHOR
Akos Maroy
.I <darkeye@tyrell.hu>


.SH ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS
Developed with contributions by

    Jim Crilly, <JCrilly@MSA.com>
    aNa|0Gue, <analogue@glop.org>
    Robin P. Blanchard, <Robin_Blanchard@gactr.uga.edu>
    Tom Gray, <tomg@future-i.com>
    Michael Smith, <msmith@labyrinth.net.au>
    Julius O. Smith, <jos@ccrma.stanford.edu>
    the OSALP team, http://osalp.sourceforge.net
    Kristjan G. Bjarnason <kgb@gangverk.is>
    Nicu Pavel <npavel@ituner.com>
    Kai Krakow <kai@kaishome.de>
    Atsuhiko Yamanaka <ymnk@jcraft.com>
    Ricardo Galli <gallir@uib.es>
    John Hay <jhay@icomtek.csir.co.za>
    Christian Forster <forster@like.e-technik.uni-erlangen.de>
    John Deeny <taqueso@dilapidated.org>
    Robert Lunnon <bobl@optushome.com.au>
    Enrico Ardizzoni <craken@users.sourceforge.net>
    Deti Fliegl <deti@fliegl.de>
    Nicholas J. Humfrey <njh@ecs.soton.ac.uk>
    Joel Ebel <jbebel@ncsu.edu>
    <jochen2@users.sourceforge.net>
    Alexander Vlasov <zulu@galaradio.com>
    Mariusz Mazur <mmazur@kernel.pl>
    dsk <derrick@csociety.org>
    Clyde Stubbs <clyde@htsoft.com>
    Jens Maurer <Jens.Maurer@gmx.net>
    Elod Horvath <elod@itfais.com>
    Pierre Souchay <pierre@souchay.net>
    Daniel Hazelbaker <daniel@highdesertchurch.com>
    Alessandro Beretta <alessandro.baretta@radiomaria.org>
    Roland Hermans <roland.hermans@omroepvenray.nl>
    Rafael Diniz <rafael@riseup.net>
  
.SH LINKS
Project homepage:
.I http://code.google.com/p/darkice/

.B IceCast
homepage:
.I http://www.icecast.org/

.B ShoutCast
homepage:
.I http://www.shoutcast.com/

.B Darwin Streaming Server
homepage:
.I http://developer.apple.com/darwin/projects/streaming/

.B Lame
homepage:
.I http://www.mp3dev.org/mp3/

.B TwoLame
homepage:
.I http://www.twolame.org/

.B Ogg Vorbis
homepage:
.I http://www.xiph.org/ogg/vorbis/

.B Ogg Opus
homepage
.I http://www.opus-codec.org/

.B faac
homepage:
.I http://www.audiocoding.com/

.B libaacplus
homepage:
.I http://tipok.org.ua/node/17

.B DarkSnow
GTK front-end:
.I http://darksnow.radiolivre.org/index.en.html
written by Rafael Diniz