File: ANNOUNCE.354

package info (click to toggle)
dcmtk 3.5.4-4
  • links: PTS, VCS
  • area: main
  • in suites: squeeze
  • size: 23,784 kB
  • ctags: 22,942
  • sloc: cpp: 165,761; ansic: 46,396; sh: 3,808; perl: 3,465; makefile: 3,097
file content (138 lines) | stat: -rw-r--r-- 5,854 bytes parent folder | download | duplicates (3)
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129
130
131
132
133
134
135
136
137
138

ANNOUNCEMENT

Version 3.5.4 of the OFFIS DCMTK (DICOM ToolKit) software is now available
for public release.  This release includes the following main changes
over the previous version (Version 3.5.4):

- DCMTK 3.5.4 builds correctly with GNU gcc 4.0 and Visual Studio 2005.

- Newly supported platforms: 
  - Linux on x86_64
  - FreeBSD 5.x, 6.x on x86
  - Solaris 10 on x86
  - QNX 6.2.1 on x86

- The use of CMake to generate project files on Windows is now required.

- New schema for include files. All includes files are now included as
  #include "dcmtk/module/file.h", e.g. #include "dcmtk/dcmdata/dctk.h".
  This allows the DCMTK header files to be installed in a public directory
  such as /usr/local/include and eliminates the risk of name clashes.

- New tool pdf2dcm allows to convert PDF files to DICOM Encapsulated PDF Storage 
  SOP instances.

- The former "imagectn" tool has been renamed to "dcmqrscp" (Q/R SCP)
  and has been refactored into a simple class structure that offers a clean API 
  for exchanging the index file back-end. Minimal support for compressed 
  transfer syntaxes has been added. The tool can now also be started by root and 
  change privileges to a different user and group specified in the config file.

- New lossless JPEG encoder that guarantees "true lossless" compression
  in contrast to the old implementation which could cause rounding errors
  in certain cases.

- StoreSCP now supports multi-process mode both on Posix and Win32 platforms
  where a separate client process is forked for each incoming association.
  On Posix platforms, the tool can also be started from inetd.

- DcmFileFormat::loadFile can now be prevented from attempting to load
  non-part 10 files as DICOM datasets. Many tools support a corresponding
  command line option "--read-file-only".

- Many tools support a new command line option that ignores the transfer syntax 
  specified in the meta header and tries to detect the transfer syntax 
  automatically from the dataset.

- Added support for X-Ray Radiation Dose SR and Procedure Log SR  
  documents in dcmsr module.
  
- TLS module now supports AES ciphersuites if compiled with OpenSSL 0.9.7 or 
  newer. All TLS-enabled tools now support the "AES TLS Secure Transport 
  Connection Profile".

- Changed names of OpenSSL DLLs for Win32 release build - there are
  just too many tools that install "their" version of libeay32.dll and
  ssleay32.dll in c:\windows\system32 and cause DLL conflicts. We now call our
  versions of the OpenSSL DLLs dcmtkssl.dll and dcmtkeay.dll.

- Added command line options for separate DIMSE and ACSE timeouts to many tools 

- The dcmdata module now supports an automatic re-conversion of defined length 
  UN elements read in an explicit VR transfer syntax, if the real VR is defined 
  in the data dictionary. A corresponding command line option "--convert-un" 
  is available in dcmdump and dcmconv.
  
- Compilation with OpenSSL 0.9.8, which introduces an incompatible API change,
  is now supported.

- Network tools support transmission and receipt of JPEG 2000 transfer syntaxes.

- DICOMDIR tools and classes now support Encapsulated Document, Real World Value 
  Mapping, Hanging Protocol and Color Presentation State objects.

- The toolkit can now read DICOM files in which the meta header group length 
  attribute (0002,0000) is absent, based on a heuristic that checks for group 
  0002 attribute tags. 

- Added option --read-dataset to dcmdjpeg that allows to decompress JPEG 
  compressed DICOM objects that have been stored as dataset without meta-header.

- Added support for reading UN elements with undefined length according to CP 
  246. A flag allows to revert to the prior behaviour in which UN elements with 
  undefined length were parsed like a normal explicit VR SQ element.

- Added support for new Media Storage Application Profiles according to DICOM
  PS 3.12-2004. Removed support for non-standard conformant "No profile".

- The DICOM data dictionary has been re-worked based on the latest
  supplements and correction proposals, as usual.

- Many bug fixes and minor improvements as usual - see the CHANGES.354
  file for more details.


Many people have contributed to this new release of DCMTK, appearing here
in alphabetical order.  Thank you very much for your support!

  Michael Albert <albertm@uphs.upenn.edu>
  Stefan Allers <stefan.allers@gmx.de>
  Dennis Ballance <dwballan@pacbell.net>
  Jesper Bojesen <jbb@medical-insight.com>
  Sean Chen <chen@cs.queensu.ca>
  Andre M. Descombes <andre@descombes.info>
  Michael Doppler <m.doppler@icoserve.com>
  Alexander Fedotov <fedotov@elektron.ru>
  Attila Gelle <attila.gelle@siemens.com>
  Indrajit Ghosh <indrajit_ghosh@hotmail.com>
  Firas Haj-Husein <fmhmhh@hotmail.com>
  Michael Heber <mheber.aup@t-online.de>
  Andrew Hewett <andrew.hewett@siemens.com>
  Anibal Jodorcovsky <anibal@intelerad.com>
  Alexander Karaivanov <adk@medical-insight.com>
  Karl Kiniger <karl.kiniger@med.ge.com>
  Bernd Kuemmerlen <bkuemmer@mevis.de>
  Mitchell Laks <mlaks2000@yahoo.com>
  John A. Meinel <john@arbash-meinel.com>
  Markus Mertens <markus.mertens@uni-muenster.de>
  Clay Nordquist <cnordquist@nbmedical.com>
  Igor Okulist <okigan@hotmail.com>
  Daniel Patel <daniel@cmr.no>
  A. M. Raportirenko <ram@sunct1.jinr.dubna.su>
  Alain Runa <alain.runa@rad.ma.uni-heidelberg.de>
  Markus Sabin <sabin@convis.de>
  Juergen Salk <juergen.salk@gmx.de>
  Erik Sanner <erik.sanner@elekta.com>
  Kent Tse <kent@intelerad.com>

OFFIS staff who have worked on this release are:
  Marco Eichelberg <eichelberg@offis.de>
  Joerg Riesmeier <riesmeier@offis.de>
  Thomas Wilkens <wilkens@offis.de>
  Michael Onken <onken@offis.de>

The DCMTK software can be downloaded via:
  http://dicom.offis.de/dcmtk

Kuratorium OFFIS e.V., Oldenburg, Germany, 2005-12-20