File: ANNOUNCE.360

package info (click to toggle)
dcmtk 3.6.0-12
  • links: PTS, VCS
  • area: main
  • in suites: wheezy
  • size: 32,976 kB
  • sloc: cpp: 193,852; ansic: 46,292; sh: 4,020; makefile: 3,969; perl: 3,278; lex: 94
file content (238 lines) | stat: -rw-r--r-- 9,891 bytes parent folder | download | duplicates (7)
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129
130
131
132
133
134
135
136
137
138
139
140
141
142
143
144
145
146
147
148
149
150
151
152
153
154
155
156
157
158
159
160
161
162
163
164
165
166
167
168
169
170
171
172
173
174
175
176
177
178
179
180
181
182
183
184
185
186
187
188
189
190
191
192
193
194
195
196
197
198
199
200
201
202
203
204
205
206
207
208
209
210
211
212
213
214
215
216
217
218
219
220
221
222
223
224
225
226
227
228
229
230
231
232
233
234
235
236
237
238

ANNOUNCEMENT

Version 3.6.0 of the OFFIS DCMTK (DICOM ToolKit) software is now available for
public release.  This release includes the following main changes over the
previous version 3.5.4:

- DCMTK 3.6.0 now also builds correctly with GNU gcc 4.1 (and higher), Visual
  Studio 2008 and 2010.

- Tested with latest versions of the following operating systems/environments:

  - Linux on x86 and x86_64
  - FreeBSD on x86 and x86_64
  - MacOS X on x86_64
  - Windows on x86 and x86_64
  - Cygwin and MinGW/MSys on x86

  For a complete list of tested systems and compilers, see the INSTALL file.

- The CMake build system can now also be used with other operating systems than
  Windows.  However, GNU autoconf is still supported and should be preferred on
  systems where the CMake project files fail.

- New module oflog introduces a unified DCMTK-wide approach for logging based
  on the log4cplus library.  Direct output to console, file, syslog and event
  log.  All DCMTK command line tools now have the same set of logging options.

- New module dcmjpls adds support for JPEG-LS compressed DICOM images based on
  the CharLS library.  The tools dcmcjpls and dcmdjpls allow for compressing
  and decompressing DICOM images with JPEG-LS from the command line.

- New tool img2dcm allows for converting JPEG and BMP images to various DICOM
  image IODs, e.g. old and new Secondary Capture, Visible Light Photographic.
  The underlying C++ class library can also be used separately.

- New tool dcm2pdf allows for extracting PDF files from DICOM Encapsulated PDF
  Storage SOP instances.

- New tool dcml2pnm allows for converting JPEG-LS compressed DICOM images to
  standard image formats like TIFF or BMP.

- The tools dcmdump and storescu have new options for searching directories
  recursively for DICOM files.

- The tool dcmdump now also has a colored output of the textual dump.  So far,
  this option is available on non-Windows systems only (uses ANSI escape code).

- The tool dcmodify now also supports reading the value of insert and modify
  statements from a file.  This is especially useful for large element values.

- The tool dsr2html now also supports the output in HTML 4.01 and XHTML 1.1
  format.  There are also new options that affect the rendering result.

- The tool dump2dcm now also supports compressed pixel data.  In addition,
  the memory requirements for very large data elements have been reduced.

- The tool xml2dcm can now also read binary data (e.g. pixel data) from a
  separate file.  The corresponding feature is not yet available in dcm2xml.

- The tool storescp now has a new option that allows for accepting all
  supported transfer syntaxes on a single association.

- The tool wlmscpfs now supports multi-process mode both on Posix and Windows
  platforms where a new child process is created for each incoming association.

- Refactored code of the tool findscu into a C++ class.  This facilitates
  re-use of the findscu code in other applications.

- Added further "switches" to the dcmdata module which allow to better cope
  with incorrectly encoded DICOM files or datasets.  These switches are also
  available as new options to the tools dcmdump and dcmconv.

- The dcmdata module now also gives access to partial attribute values without
  loading the complete attribute value into memory, if kept in file.

- The write methods in dcmdata now handle large raw data elements without
  loading everything into memory.  This allows very large images to be sent
  over a network connection or to be copied without ever being fully in memory.

- The dcmdata module now has a common interface for the frame-wise access to
  compressed and uncompressed pixel data without ever loading the complete
  object into main memory.

- The dcmimgle/dcmimage module makes use of the new partial access to pixel
  data for processing large multi-frame images in a stepwise manner.

- The dcmimgle/dcmimage module and related tools now also support a new
  bilinear and a bicubic scaling algorithm for image magnification.
  Furthermore, the sigmoid VOI LUT function has been implemented.

- Added support for Colon CAD SR, Spectacle Prescription Report, Macular Grid
  Thickness and Volume Report as well as Implantation Plan SR documents to the
  dcmsr module.

- Incorporated fixes to dcmsr module which were introduced by various
  correction proposals.  Added support for the new optional Preliminary Flag.

- DICOMDIR tools and classes now support all new SOP classes and directory
  record types.  Also added a new operating mode that allows for updating
  existing entries in a DICOMDIR.

- Introduced general path syntax for accessing nested elements from command
  line tools like findscu or dcmodify.

- Added methods for checking the value representation (VR) and value
  multiplicity (VM) of data elements for conformance with the DICOM standard.

- Network tools now support transmission and receipt of JPEG-LS and MPEG2
  transfer syntaxes.

- Added support for the extended negotiation of user identity to the dcmnet
  module.  The first tool that makes use of this new feature is storescu.

- Introduced new experimental SCU and SCP classes that act as a C++ wrapper to
  the still C-based dcmnet module.

- Added new class OFFile that provides a simple encapsulation layer for file
  based stream I/O and, in particular, provides large file support (LFS) if
  available on the underlying operating system/platform through a single API.

- Out of the box compilation with OpenSSL 1.0.0 is now supported.

- Revised installation directory scheme in order to be more compliant with the
  Filesystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS) and derived file system standards.

- Added data dictionary including private ASTM tags from DICONDE (Digital
  Imaging and Communication in Nondestructive Evaluation) standard.

- The DICOM data dictionary as well as the list of SOP classes and transfer
  syntaxes have been re-worked based on the latest edition of the DICOM
  standard plus all additionally approved supplements and correction proposals
  (as of 2010-11-30).  Please note that there have been minor name changes!

- Many bug fixes and minor improvements as usual - see the more than 12,000
  lines long CHANGES.360 file for more details.


Many people have contributed to this new release of DCMTK, appearing here in
alphabetical order.  Thank you very much for your support!

  Adrian Vogt <adrian.vogt@varian.com>
  Alexander Fedotov <fedotov@elektron.ru>
  Alexander Haderer <alexander.haderer@charite.de>
  Anders Israelsson <anders@nud.se>
  Andreas Barth <andreas.barth@bruker-biospin.de>
  Andreas Bohne <andreas.bohne@mevis.de>
  Anibal Jodorcovsky <anibal@intelerad.com>
  Bernd Kuemmerlen <bernd.kuemmerlen@mevis.de>
  Christian Fremgen <christian.fremgen@ith-icoserve.com>
  Christian Schwerin <cs@sonowin.de>
  Colby Dillion <colby.dillion@gmail.com>
  David Clunie <dclunie@dclunie.com>
  Dennis Kregel <dennis.kregel@uni-oldenburg.de>
  Dennis Schlevoigt <schlevoigt@visus-tt.com>
  Eduard Stanescu <eduard_stanescu@yahoo.com>
  Evgeny Sabelskiy <evgeny.sabelskiy@gmail.com>
  Ewald de Vries <ewald.de.vries@medstreaming.com>
  Gerhard Holzinger <gerhard.holzinger@earchive.at>
  Gerold Gruber <geroldgruber@h-p-eurosoft.de>
  Gilles Mevel <gilles.mevel@etiam.com>
  Henning Meyer <henning.meyer@uhn.on.ca>
  J. Carnulfo <jca@vertigoeng.com>
  Jacob Foshee <jacobf@gmail.com>
  Jargo Koster <jargo@innovaatik.ee>
  Jeff Solomon <jsolomon@medicalnumerics.com>
  Jeroen Eggermont <j.eggermont@lumc.nl>
  Jesper Bojesen <jbb@medical-insight.com>
  Jose Salavert Torres <josator@fiv.upv.es>
  Juergen Salk <juergen.salk@uni-ulm.de>
  Karen Rei Pease <karen-pease@uiowa.edu>
  Keith Bailey <keith.bailey@kodak.com>
  Kevin Jamieson <kjamieson@bycast.com>
  Marc Schlimbach <marc.schlimbach@uni-siegen.de>
  Mark Smith <mark@corestudycast.com>
  Markus Erbacher <markus.erbacher@gmx.de>
  Markus Mertens <markus.mertens@evkb.de>
  Markus Sabin <msabin@digithurst.de>
  Mathieu Malaterre <mathieu.malaterre@gmail.com>
  Michael Doppler <m.doppler@synedra.com>
  Michael Kraemer <m.kraemer@gsi.de>
  Niels Dekker <dicomrelatedmail@xs4all.nl>
  Nils Gladitz <gladitz@scivis.de>
  Paul Wijntjes <paul.wijntjes@med.ge.com>
  Per Inge Mathisen <perim@sonowand.com>
  Peter Klotz <peter.klotz@ith-icoserve.com>
  Pietro Cerutti <gahr@freebsd.org>
  Pim Philipse <pphilipse@delftdi.com>
  Prashant Nair <prashant.nair@philips.com>
  Radoslaw Garbacz <rgarbacz@aycan.de>
  Razvan Costea-Barlutiu <cbrazvan@laitek.com>
  Roelant Visser <r.visser@lrcb.nl>
  Spencer Gunn <spencer.gunn@googlemail.com>
  Stefan Allers <stefan.allers@gmx.de>
  Steffen Benndorf <steffen.benndorf@siemens.com>
  Stephan Karacson <stkaopen@gmx.at>
  Steve Pieper <pieper@bwh.harvard.edu>
  Svilen Nedev <svilenn@gmail.com>
  Takeo Satomi <takeo.satomi@gmail.com>
  Thies Jochimsen <thies@jochimsen.de>
  Tom Clune <tom.clune@teracorp.com>
  Vladimir Kharam <vladimir@rssdimed.com>
  Yves Neumann <neumann@image-systems.biz>

  Forum user "Aaron1"
  Forum user "budric"
  Forum user "bwiklak"
  Forum user "Chichon"
  Forum user "ecoto"
  Forum user "eludias"
  Forum user "focus"
  Forum user "gurbuz"
  Forum user "liuxinming"
  Forum user "marlam"
  Forum user "mask"
  Forum user "parameter"
  Forum user "parigaud"
  Forum user "popu"
  Forum user "rhinojunk"
  Forum user "semi-newbie"
  Forum user "Shaeto"
  Forum user "spasmous"
  Forum user "takeos"
  Forum user "Vrenn"
  Forum user "yeganeh"

Members of the OFFIS DICOM Team who have worked on this release are:

  Marco Eichelberg <eichelberg@offis.de>
  Joerg Riesmeier <riesmeier@icsmed.de>
  Michael Onken <onken@offis.de>
  Uli Schlachter <psychon@znc.in>

The DCMTK software can be downloaded via:

  http://dicom.offis.de/dcmtk or http://www.dcmtk.org/

OFFIS e.V., Oldenburg, Germany, 2011-01-06