File: README.md

package info (click to toggle)
nodejs 4.8.2~dfsg-1
  • links: PTS, VCS
  • area: main
  • in suites: stretch
  • size: 62,476 kB
  • ctags: 111,183
  • sloc: cpp: 661,544; ansic: 31,406; python: 23,073; makefile: 1,418; sh: 1,384; perl: 255; lisp: 222; ruby: 76; xml: 50
file content (402 lines) | stat: -rw-r--r-- 18,119 bytes parent folder | download | duplicates (2)
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129
130
131
132
133
134
135
136
137
138
139
140
141
142
143
144
145
146
147
148
149
150
151
152
153
154
155
156
157
158
159
160
161
162
163
164
165
166
167
168
169
170
171
172
173
174
175
176
177
178
179
180
181
182
183
184
185
186
187
188
189
190
191
192
193
194
195
196
197
198
199
200
201
202
203
204
205
206
207
208
209
210
211
212
213
214
215
216
217
218
219
220
221
222
223
224
225
226
227
228
229
230
231
232
233
234
235
236
237
238
239
240
241
242
243
244
245
246
247
248
249
250
251
252
253
254
255
256
257
258
259
260
261
262
263
264
265
266
267
268
269
270
271
272
273
274
275
276
277
278
279
280
281
282
283
284
285
286
287
288
289
290
291
292
293
294
295
296
297
298
299
300
301
302
303
304
305
306
307
308
309
310
311
312
313
314
315
316
317
318
319
320
321
322
323
324
325
326
327
328
329
330
331
332
333
334
335
336
337
338
339
340
341
342
343
344
345
346
347
348
349
350
351
352
353
354
355
356
357
358
359
360
361
362
363
364
365
366
367
368
369
370
371
372
373
374
375
376
377
378
379
380
381
382
383
384
385
386
387
388
389
390
391
392
393
394
395
396
397
398
399
400
401
402
# Node.js

[![Gitter](https://badges.gitter.im/Join Chat.svg)](https://gitter.im/nodejs/node?utm_source=badge&utm_medium=badge&utm_campaign=pr-badge&utm_content=badge) [![CII Best Practices](https://bestpractices.coreinfrastructure.org/projects/29/badge)](https://bestpractices.coreinfrastructure.org/projects/29)

Node.js is a JavaScript runtime built on Chrome's V8 JavaScript engine. Node.js
uses an event-driven, non-blocking I/O model that makes it lightweight and
efficient. The Node.js package ecosystem, [npm][], is the largest ecosystem of
open source libraries in the world.

The Node.js project is supported by the
[Node.js Foundation](https://nodejs.org/en/foundation/). Contributions,
policies and releases are managed under an
[open governance model](./GOVERNANCE.md). We are also bound by a
[Code of Conduct](./CODE_OF_CONDUCT.md).

If you need help using or installing Node.js, please use the
[nodejs/help](https://github.com/nodejs/help) issue tracker.

## Resources for Newcomers

### Official Resources

* [Website][]
* [Node.js Help][]
* [Contributing to the project][]
* IRC (node core development): [#node-dev on chat.freenode.net][]

### Unofficial Resources

* IRC (general questions): [#node.js on chat.freenode.net][]. Please see
<http://nodeirc.info/> for more information regarding the `#node.js` IRC
channel.

_Please note that unofficial resources are neither managed by (nor necessarily
endorsed by) the Node.js TSC/CTC. Specifically, such resources are not
currently covered by the [Node.js Moderation Policy][] and the selection and
actions of resource operators/moderators are not subject to TSC/CTC oversight._

## Release Types

The Node.js project maintains multiple types of releases:

* **Current**: Released from active development branches of this repository,
  versioned by [SemVer](http://semver.org/) and signed by a member of the
  [Release Team](#release-team).
  Code for Current releases is organized in this repository by major version
  number, For example: [v4.x](https://github.com/nodejs/node/tree/v4.x).
  The major version number of Current releases will increment every 6 months
  allowing for breaking changes to be introduced. This happens in April and
  October every year. Current release lines beginning in October each year have
  a maximum support life of 8 months. Current release lines beginning in April
  each year will convert to LTS (see below) after 6 months and receive further
  support for 30 months.
* **LTS**: Releases that receive Long-term Support, with a focus on stability
  and security. Every second Current release line (major version) will become an
  LTS line and receive 18 months of _Active LTS_ support and a further 12
  months of _Maintenance_. LTS release lines are given alphabetically
  ordered codenames, beginning with v4 Argon. LTS releases are less frequent
  and will attempt to maintain consistent major and minor version numbers,
  only incrementing patch version numbers. There are no breaking changes or
  feature additions, except in some special circumstances. More information
  can be found in the [LTS README](https://github.com/nodejs/LTS/).
* **Nightly**: Versions of code in this repository on the current Current
  branch, automatically built every 24-hours where changes exist. Use with
  caution.

## Download

Binaries, installers, and source tarballs are available at
<https://nodejs.org>.

**Current** and **LTS** releases are available at
<https://nodejs.org/download/release/>, listed under their version strings.
The [latest](https://nodejs.org/download/release/latest/) directory is an
alias for the latest Current release. The latest LTS release from an LTS
line is available in the form: latest-_codename_. For example:
<https://nodejs.org/download/release/latest-argon>

**Nightly** builds are available at
<https://nodejs.org/download/nightly/>, listed under their version
string which includes their date (in UTC time) and the commit SHA at
the HEAD of the release.

**API documentation** is available in each release and nightly
directory under _docs_. <https://nodejs.org/api/> points to the API
documentation of the latest stable version.

### Verifying Binaries

Current, LTS and Nightly download directories all contain a _SHASUM256.txt_
file that lists the SHA checksums for each file available for
download.

The _SHASUM256.txt_ can be downloaded using curl.

```console
$ curl -O https://nodejs.org/dist/vx.y.z/SHASUMS256.txt
```

To check that a downloaded file matches the checksum, run
it through `sha256sum` with a command such as:

```console
$ grep node-vx.y.z.tar.gz SHASUMS256.txt | sha256sum -c -
```

_(Where "node-vx.y.z.tar.gz" is the name of the file you have
downloaded)_

Additionally, Current and LTS releases (not Nightlies) have GPG signed
copies of SHASUM256.txt files available as SHASUM256.txt.asc. You can use
`gpg` to verify that the file has not been tampered with.

To verify a SHASUM256.txt.asc, you will first need to import all of
the GPG keys of individuals authorized to create releases. They are
listed at the bottom of this README under [Release Team](#release-team).
Use a command such as this to import the keys:

```console
$ gpg --keyserver pool.sks-keyservers.net --recv-keys DD8F2338BAE7501E3DD5AC78C273792F7D83545D
```

_(See the bottom of this README for a full script to import active
release keys)_

You can then use `gpg --verify SHASUMS256.txt.asc` to verify that the
file has been signed by an authorized member of the Node.js team.

Once verified, use the SHASUMS256.txt.asc file to get the checksum for
the binary verification command above.

## Building Node.js

See [BUILDING.md](BUILDING.md) for instructions on how to build
Node.js from source.

## Security

All security bugs in Node.js are taken seriously and should be reported by
emailing security@nodejs.org. This will be delivered to a subset of the project
team who handle security issues. Please don't disclose security bugs
publicly until they have been handled by the security team.

Your email will be acknowledged within 24 hours, and you’ll receive a more
detailed response to your email within 48 hours indicating the next steps in
handling your report.

## Current Project Team Members

The Node.js project team comprises a group of core collaborators and a sub-group
that forms the _Core Technical Committee_ (CTC) which governs the project. For
more information about the governance of the Node.js project, see
[GOVERNANCE.md](./GOVERNANCE.md).

### CTC (Core Technical Committee)

* [addaleax](https://github.com/addaleax) -
**Anna Henningsen** &lt;anna@addaleax.net&gt; (she/her)
* [bnoordhuis](https://github.com/bnoordhuis) -
**Ben Noordhuis** &lt;info@bnoordhuis.nl&gt;
* [ChALkeR](https://github.com/ChALkeR) -
**Сковорода Никита Андреевич** &lt;chalkerx@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [cjihrig](https://github.com/cjihrig) -
**Colin Ihrig** &lt;cjihrig@gmail.com&gt;
* [evanlucas](https://github.com/evanlucas) -
**Evan Lucas** &lt;evanlucas@me.com&gt; (he/him)
* [fishrock123](https://github.com/fishrock123) -
**Jeremiah Senkpiel** &lt;fishrock123@rocketmail.com&gt;
* [indutny](https://github.com/indutny) -
**Fedor Indutny** &lt;fedor.indutny@gmail.com&gt;
* [jasnell](https://github.com/jasnell) -
**James M Snell** &lt;jasnell@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [mhdawson](https://github.com/mhdawson) -
**Michael Dawson** &lt;michael_dawson@ca.ibm.com&gt; (he/him)
* [misterdjules](https://github.com/misterdjules) -
**Julien Gilli** &lt;jgilli@nodejs.org&gt;
* [mscdex](https://github.com/mscdex) -
**Brian White** &lt;mscdex@mscdex.net&gt;
* [MylesBorins](https://github.com/MylesBorins) -
**Myles Borins** &lt;myles.borins@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [ofrobots](https://github.com/ofrobots) -
**Ali Ijaz Sheikh** &lt;ofrobots@google.com&gt;
* [rvagg](https://github.com/rvagg) -
**Rod Vagg** &lt;rod@vagg.org&gt;
* [shigeki](https://github.com/shigeki) -
**Shigeki Ohtsu** &lt;ohtsu@iij.ad.jp&gt; (he/him)
* [targos](https://github.com/targos) -
**Michaël Zasso** &lt;targos@protonmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [thefourtheye](https://github.com/thefourtheye) -
**Sakthipriyan Vairamani** &lt;thechargingvolcano@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [trevnorris](https://github.com/trevnorris) -
**Trevor Norris** &lt;trev.norris@gmail.com&gt;
* [Trott](https://github.com/Trott) -
**Rich Trott** &lt;rtrott@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)

### Collaborators

* [abouthiroppy](https://github.com/abouthiroppy) -
**Yuta Hiroto** &lt;hello@about-hiroppy.com&gt; (he/him)
* [ak239](https://github.com/ak239) -
**Aleksei Koziatinskii** &lt;ak239spb@gmail.com&gt;
* [andrasq](https://github.com/andrasq) -
**Andras** &lt;andras@kinvey.com&gt;
* [AndreasMadsen](https://github.com/AndreasMadsen) -
**Andreas Madsen** &lt;amwebdk@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [bengl](https://github.com/bengl) -
**Bryan English** &lt;bryan@bryanenglish.com&gt; (he/him)
* [benjamingr](https://github.com/benjamingr) -
**Benjamin Gruenbaum** &lt;benjamingr@gmail.com&gt;
* [bmeck](https://github.com/bmeck) -
**Bradley Farias** &lt;bradley.meck@gmail.com&gt;
* [brendanashworth](https://github.com/brendanashworth) -
**Brendan Ashworth** &lt;brendan.ashworth@me.com&gt;
* [bzoz](https://github.com/bzoz) -
**Bartosz Sosnowski** &lt;bartosz@janeasystems.com&gt;
* [calvinmetcalf](https://github.com/calvinmetcalf) -
**Calvin Metcalf** &lt;calvin.metcalf@gmail.com&gt;
* [chrisdickinson](https://github.com/chrisdickinson) -
**Chris Dickinson** &lt;christopher.s.dickinson@gmail.com&gt;
* [claudiorodriguez](https://github.com/claudiorodriguez) -
**Claudio Rodriguez** &lt;cjrodr@yahoo.com&gt;
* [danbev](https://github.com/danbev) -
**Daniel Bevenius** &lt;daniel.bevenius@gmail.com&gt;
* [edsadr](https://github.com/edsadr) -
**Adrian Estrada** &lt;edsadr@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [eljefedelrodeodeljefe](https://github.com/eljefedelrodeodeljefe) -
**Robert Jefe Lindstaedt** &lt;robert.lindstaedt@gmail.com&gt;
* [estliberitas](https://github.com/estliberitas) -
**Alexander Makarenko** &lt;estliberitas@gmail.com&gt;
* [eugeneo](https://github.com/eugeneo) -
**Eugene Ostroukhov** &lt;eostroukhov@google.com&gt;
* [fhinkel](https://github.com/fhinkel) -
**Franziska Hinkelmann** &lt;franziska.hinkelmann@gmail.com&gt;
* [firedfox](https://github.com/firedfox) -
**Daniel Wang** &lt;wangyang0123@gmail.com&gt;
* [geek](https://github.com/geek) -
**Wyatt Preul** &lt;wpreul@gmail.com&gt;
* [gibfahn](https://github.com/gibfahn) -
**Gibson Fahnestock** &lt;gibfahn@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [iarna](https://github.com/iarna) -
**Rebecca Turner** &lt;me@re-becca.org&gt;
* [imyller](https://github.com/imyller) -
**Ilkka Myller** &lt;ilkka.myller@nodefield.com&gt;
* [isaacs](https://github.com/isaacs) -
**Isaac Z. Schlueter** &lt;i@izs.me&gt;
* [italoacasas](https://github.com/italoacasas) -
**Italo A. Casas** &lt;me@italoacasas.com&gt; (he/him)
* [iWuzHere](https://github.com/iWuzHere) -
**Imran Iqbal** &lt;imran@imraniqbal.org&gt;
* [JacksonTian](https://github.com/JacksonTian) -
**Jackson Tian** &lt;shyvo1987@gmail.com&gt;
* [jbergstroem](https://github.com/jbergstroem) -
**Johan Bergström** &lt;bugs@bergstroem.nu&gt;
* [jhamhader](https://github.com/jhamhader) -
**Yuval Brik** &lt;yuval@brik.org.il&gt;
* [joaocgreis](https://github.com/joaocgreis) -
**João Reis** &lt;reis@janeasystems.com&gt;
* [joshgav](https://github.com/joshgav) -
**Josh Gavant** &lt;josh.gavant@outlook.com&gt;
* [joyeecheung](https://github.com/joyeecheung) -
**Joyee Cheung** &lt;joyeec9h3@gmail.com&gt; (she/her)
* [julianduque](https://github.com/julianduque) -
**Julian Duque** &lt;julianduquej@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [JungMinu](https://github.com/JungMinu) -
**Minwoo Jung** &lt;minwoo@nodesource.com&gt; (he/him)
* [lance](https://github.com/lance) -
**Lance Ball** &lt;lball@redhat.com&gt;
* [lpinca](https://github.com/lpinca) -
**Luigi Pinca** &lt;luigipinca@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [lxe](https://github.com/lxe) -
**Aleksey Smolenchuk** &lt;lxe@lxe.co&gt;
* [matthewloring](https://github.com/matthewloring) -
**Matthew Loring** &lt;mattloring@google.com&gt;
* [mcollina](https://github.com/mcollina) -
**Matteo Collina** &lt;matteo.collina@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [micnic](https://github.com/micnic) -
**Nicu Micleușanu** &lt;micnic90@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [mikeal](https://github.com/mikeal) -
**Mikeal Rogers** &lt;mikeal.rogers@gmail.com&gt;
* [monsanto](https://github.com/monsanto) -
**Christopher Monsanto** &lt;chris@monsan.to&gt;
* [not-an-aardvark](https://github.com/not-an-aardvark) -
**Teddy Katz** &lt;teddy.katz@gmail.com&gt;
* [Olegas](https://github.com/Olegas) -
**Oleg Elifantiev** &lt;oleg@elifantiev.ru&gt;
* [orangemocha](https://github.com/orangemocha) -
**Alexis Campailla** &lt;orangemocha@nodejs.org&gt;
* [othiym23](https://github.com/othiym23) -
**Forrest L Norvell** &lt;ogd@aoaioxxysz.net&gt; (he/him)
* [petkaantonov](https://github.com/petkaantonov) -
**Petka Antonov** &lt;petka_antonov@hotmail.com&gt;
* [phillipj](https://github.com/phillipj) -
**Phillip Johnsen** &lt;johphi@gmail.com&gt;
* [piscisaureus](https://github.com/piscisaureus) -
**Bert Belder** &lt;bertbelder@gmail.com&gt;
* [pmq20](https://github.com/pmq20) -
**Minqi Pan** &lt;pmq2001@gmail.com&gt;
* [princejwesley](https://github.com/princejwesley) -
**Prince John Wesley** &lt;princejohnwesley@gmail.com&gt;
* [qard](https://github.com/qard) -
**Stephen Belanger** &lt;admin@stephenbelanger.com&gt; (he/him)
* [rlidwka](https://github.com/rlidwka) -
**Alex Kocharin** &lt;alex@kocharin.ru&gt;
* [rmg](https://github.com/rmg) -
**Ryan Graham** &lt;r.m.graham@gmail.com&gt;
* [robertkowalski](https://github.com/robertkowalski) -
**Robert Kowalski** &lt;rok@kowalski.gd&gt;
* [romankl](https://github.com/romankl) -
**Roman Klauke** &lt;romaaan.git@gmail.com&gt;
* [ronkorving](https://github.com/ronkorving) -
**Ron Korving** &lt;ron@ronkorving.nl&gt;
* [RReverser](https://github.com/RReverser) -
**Ingvar Stepanyan** &lt;me@rreverser.com&gt;
* [saghul](https://github.com/saghul) -
**Saúl Ibarra Corretgé** &lt;saghul@gmail.com&gt;
* [sam-github](https://github.com/sam-github) -
**Sam Roberts** &lt;vieuxtech@gmail.com&gt;
* [santigimeno](https://github.com/santigimeno) -
**Santiago Gimeno** &lt;santiago.gimeno@gmail.com&gt;
* [seishun](https://github.com/seishun) -
**Nikolai Vavilov** &lt;vvnicholas@gmail.com&gt;
* [silverwind](https://github.com/silverwind) -
**Roman Reiss** &lt;me@silverwind.io&gt;
* [srl295](https://github.com/srl295) -
**Steven R Loomis** &lt;srloomis@us.ibm.com&gt;
* [stefanmb](https://github.com/stefanmb) -
**Stefan Budeanu** &lt;stefan@budeanu.com&gt;
* [tellnes](https://github.com/tellnes) -
**Christian Tellnes** &lt;christian@tellnes.no&gt;
* [thekemkid](https://github.com/thekemkid) -
**Glen Keane** &lt;glenkeane.94@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [thlorenz](https://github.com/thlorenz) -
**Thorsten Lorenz** &lt;thlorenz@gmx.de&gt;
* [TimothyGu](https://github.com/TimothyGu) -
**Timothy Gu** &lt;timothygu99@gmail.com&gt; (he/him)
* [tunniclm](https://github.com/tunniclm) -
**Mike Tunnicliffe** &lt;m.j.tunnicliffe@gmail.com&gt;
* [vkurchatkin](https://github.com/vkurchatkin) -
**Vladimir Kurchatkin** &lt;vladimir.kurchatkin@gmail.com&gt;
* [whitlockjc](https://github.com/whitlockjc) -
**Jeremy Whitlock** &lt;jwhitlock@apache.org&gt;
* [yorkie](https://github.com/yorkie) -
**Yorkie Liu** &lt;yorkiefixer@gmail.com&gt;
* [yosuke-furukawa](https://github.com/yosuke-furukawa) -
**Yosuke Furukawa** &lt;yosuke.furukawa@gmail.com&gt;

Collaborators (which includes CTC members) follow the
[COLLABORATOR_GUIDE.md](./COLLABORATOR_GUIDE.md) in maintaining the Node.js
project.

### Release Team

Node.js releases are signed with one of the following GPG keys:

* **Colin Ihrig** &lt;cjihrig@gmail.com&gt;
`94AE36675C464D64BAFA68DD7434390BDBE9B9C5`
* **Evan Lucas** &lt;evanlucas@me.com&gt;
`B9AE9905FFD7803F25714661B63B535A4C206CA9`
* **Italo A. Casas** &lt;me@italoacasas.com&gt;
`56730D5401028683275BD23C23EFEFE93C4CFFFE`
* **James M Snell** &lt;jasnell@keybase.io&gt;
`71DCFD284A79C3B38668286BC97EC7A07EDE3FC1`
* **Jeremiah Senkpiel** &lt;fishrock@keybase.io&gt;
`FD3A5288F042B6850C66B31F09FE44734EB7990E`
* **Myles Borins** &lt;myles.borins@gmail.com&gt;
`C4F0DFFF4E8C1A8236409D08E73BC641CC11F4C8`
* **Rod Vagg** &lt;rod@vagg.org&gt;
`DD8F2338BAE7501E3DD5AC78C273792F7D83545D`

The full set of trusted release keys can be imported by running:

```shell
gpg --keyserver pool.sks-keyservers.net --recv-keys 94AE36675C464D64BAFA68DD7434390BDBE9B9C5
gpg --keyserver pool.sks-keyservers.net --recv-keys FD3A5288F042B6850C66B31F09FE44734EB7990E
gpg --keyserver pool.sks-keyservers.net --recv-keys 71DCFD284A79C3B38668286BC97EC7A07EDE3FC1
gpg --keyserver pool.sks-keyservers.net --recv-keys DD8F2338BAE7501E3DD5AC78C273792F7D83545D
gpg --keyserver pool.sks-keyservers.net --recv-keys C4F0DFFF4E8C1A8236409D08E73BC641CC11F4C8
gpg --keyserver pool.sks-keyservers.net --recv-keys B9AE9905FFD7803F25714661B63B535A4C206CA9
gpg --keyserver pool.sks-keyservers.net --recv-keys 56730D5401028683275BD23C23EFEFE93C4CFFFE
```

See the section above on [Verifying Binaries](#verifying-binaries) for details
on what to do with these keys to verify that a downloaded file is official.

Previous releases may also have been signed with one of the following GPG keys:

* **Chris Dickinson** &lt;christopher.s.dickinson@gmail.com&gt;
`9554F04D7259F04124DE6B476D5A82AC7E37093B`
* **Isaac Z. Schlueter** &lt;i@izs.me&gt;
`93C7E9E91B49E432C2F75674B0A78B0A6C481CF6`
* **Julien Gilli** &lt;jgilli@fastmail.fm&gt;
`114F43EE0176B71C7BC219DD50A3051F888C628D`
* **Timothy J Fontaine** &lt;tjfontaine@gmail.com&gt;
`7937DFD2AB06298B2293C3187D33FF9D0246406D`

[npm]: https://www.npmjs.com
[Website]: https://nodejs.org/en/
[Contributing to the project]: CONTRIBUTING.md
[Node.js Help]: https://github.com/nodejs/help
[Node.js Moderation Policy]: https://github.com/nodejs/TSC/blob/master/Moderation-Policy.md
[#node.js on chat.freenode.net]: https://webchat.freenode.net?channels=node.js&uio=d4
[#node-dev on chat.freenode.net]: https://webchat.freenode.net?channels=node-dev&uio=d4