File: README

package info (click to toggle)
scotty 2.1.9-1
  • links: PTS
  • area: main
  • in suites: hamm
  • size: 9,984 kB
  • ctags: 4,313
  • sloc: ansic: 35,946; sh: 12,591; tcl: 8,122; yacc: 2,442; makefile: 898; lex: 370
file content (281 lines) | stat: -rw-r--r-- 11,398 bytes parent folder | download
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129
130
131
132
133
134
135
136
137
138
139
140
141
142
143
144
145
146
147
148
149
150
151
152
153
154
155
156
157
158
159
160
161
162
163
164
165
166
167
168
169
170
171
172
173
174
175
176
177
178
179
180
181
182
183
184
185
186
187
188
189
190
191
192
193
194
195
196
197
198
199
200
201
202
203
204
205
206
207
208
209
210
211
212
213
214
215
216
217
218
219
220
221
222
223
224
225
226
227
228
229
230
231
232
233
234
235
236
237
238
239
240
241
242
243
244
245
246
247
248
249
250
251
252
253
254
255
256
257
258
259
260
261
262
263
264
265
266
267
268
269
270
271
272
273
274
275
276
277
278
279
280
281
Welcome to the Scotty Tcl extension

by Juergen Schoenwaelder and many contributors.

1. Introduction:
----------------

You are looking at the source tree of scotty, a Tcl extension to build
network management applications using Tcl (and Tk). The scotty extension 
provides new Tcl commands to

	- send and receive ICMP packets
	- query the Domain Name System (DNS)
	- access UDP sockets from Tcl
	- probe and use some selected SUN RPCs
	- retrieve and serve documents via HTTP
	- send and reveice SNMP messages (SNMPv1, SNMPv2USEC, SNMPv2C)
	- write special purpose SNMP agents in Tcl
	- parse and access SNMP MIB definitions
	- schedule jobs that are to be done regularly

and for some OSI-folks there is some optional code to 

	- parse and access GDMO MIB definitions
	- invoke CMIP operations based on the osimis/isode toolkit

This distributions also includes the sources for Tkined. Tkined is a
network editor which allows to draw maps showing your network
configuration. The most important feature of Tkined is its programming
interface which allows network management applications to extend the
capabilities of Tkined. Most applications for Tkined are written using
scotty.

2. Documentation:
-----------------

The "doc" subdirectory contains manual pages for the scotty extension
an the optional features. The most important one is the Tnm.n page
which gives an overview over the Tcl commands provided by the scotty
extension. You should be able to read them after installation with 
the UNIX "man" command, assuming your MANPATH contains the installation 
directory.

An overview about the scotty extension has been presented at the 3rd
Tcl/Tk workshop in 1995. A PostScript copy of this paper is available
at ftp://ftp.ibr.cs.tu-bs.de/pub/local/papers/tcltk-95.ps.gz.

There is also a manual page for Tkined in the "doc" subdirectory. A
short description of the API which is used to write new applications 
for the Tkined editor is available in the ined.n page.

3. Compiling and installing Tcl:
--------------------------------

This release is based on Tcl7.6 and Tk4.2, but it should also work
with Tcl8.0p2 and Tk8.0p2. You will find the latest version of these
packages at ftp://ftp.smli.com/ and many mirror sites around the
globe. Note, there is guarantee that this scotty/tkined version will
most likely not work with later versions of Tcl and Tk.

This release contains everything you need to compile and run scotty
and tkined with Tcl7.6 and Tk4.2 or Tcl8.0p2 and Tk8.0p2. To compile,
change to the "unix" subdirectory and follow the instructions in the
README file in that directory for compiling scotty and/or tkined,
installing it, and running the test suite. There is some experimental
code to compile scotty/tkined on 32 bit Windows platforms in the "win"
subdirectory.

4. Additional Information:
--------------------------

There is a mailing list which is used to announce new versions, to
distribute small patches or discuss everything related to the scotty
extension. The list is combined with the Tkined (a Tk network editor)
discussion list. To subscribe to this list, send a message to

	<tkined-request@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de> 

and follow the instructions. Additional information is available on
the Web at the following URL:

	http://wwwsnmp.cs.utwente.nl/~schoenw/scotty/

These Web pages include release notes, pointer to related material, a
list of frequently asked questions (FAQ) and the mailing list archive.

5. Support and bug fixes:
-------------------------

We are generally interested in receiving bug reports or suggestions
for improvements. When reporting bugs, please provide a good
description how to reproduce the bug and indicate which version of Tcl
and Scotty you are using plus the operating system name and version.
Bugs with a detailed bug report are usually fixed soon.

We can't provide much individual support for users. If you have some
problems that you can't solve by reading the man pages, please make
sure that it is not a Tcl related question (e.g. a quoting problem)
before you send mail to the mailing list (the preferred way to ask
questions as there are people who can help even if we are not on the
Internet).

6. Contributors:
----------------

Scotty started very simple as a readline Tcl frontend when there was
no standard tclsh available. I added commands to access network
information when I started work on the network editor Tkined. Scotty
grew up in the last years and many people contributed ideas, patches
or complete modules to this package. Below is a list of contributors
(hopefully not too incomplete) in no particular order.

. The dns command and the icmp server ntping were written by Erik
  Schoenfelder <schoenfr@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de> who also helped me to fix 
  bugs and to enhance portability.

. Stefan Schoek <schoek@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de> contributed the simple job
  scheduler. It was rewritten by me but the ideas were taken from his
  original Tcl version.

. Sven Schmidt <vschmidt@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de> did the original SNMP
  implementation.

. Michael Kernchen <kernchen@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de> wrote the GDMO parser
  and the CMIP Tcl interface based on the OSIMIS/ISODE MSAP API.

. Dirk Grunwald <grunwald@foobar.cs.colorado.edu> and Dan Mosedale
  <mosedale@genome.stanford.edu> provided patches for DEC alpha
  machines.

. Bob Shaw <bshaw@spdc.ti.com> helped by reporting bugs that made 
  scotty more portable.

. Harlan Stenn <harlan@cms-stl.com> provided some bug fixes and a 
  patch to get yanny to work on HP-UX and SGI boxes.

. John Rodkey <rodkey@westmx.westmont.edu> reported some portability 
  problems on AIX machines.

. Reto Beeler <beeler@tech.ascom.ch> contributed a simple MIB browser.
  It has been rewritten to use `hyperlinks' and is now part of the
  snmp browser script.

. John P. Rouillard <rouilj@cs.umb.edu> provided some patches to compile
  scotty on Solaris machines out of the box. He also contributed many 
  ideas that improved the event and monitoring scripts.

. Juergen Luksch <luksch@telenet.de> reported compilation problems on
  SCO machines and provided some patches to fix them.

. De Clarke <de@lick.ucsc.edu> helped to make integration of scotty and
  extended Tcl easier.

. Sam Shen <sls@mh1.lbl.gov> send me a patch which implements the 
  udp multicast command.

. Hakan Soderstrom <hs@soderstrom.se> wrote the msqltcl interface which
  is based on the sybtcl and oratcl interface witten by Tom Poindexter
  <tpoindex@nyx.cs.du.edu>. Thanks for making this good work available.

. David J. Hughes <Bambi@Bond.edu.au> did a great job on writing the
  Mini SQL Server. He did something successfully that we did not get
  right with our bones server.

. Doug Hughes <Doug.Hughes@Eng.Auburn.EDU> fixed a long outstanding bug
  in sunrpc probe and provided some other valuable fixes/comments.

. Peter Reilly <peter@euristix.ie> send some patches to correct the
  encoding of IP addresses.

. Hans Bayle <hansb@aie.nl> uncovered some bugs in the ASN.1 code 
  (decode/encode object identifier) and some other minor problems
  while trying to run scotty on a SCO box.

. David Brower <dbrower@us.oracle.com> send in some patches to make
  purify happy.

. Giorgio Andreoli <andreoli@ercole.cefriel.it> helped to fix some
  Integer32 related problems.

. Jim Madden <jmadden@ucsd.edu> provided some patches to fix some
  bugs in the monitoring scripts.

. Andre Beck <beck@ibh-dd.de> provided some fixes for the interface
  load monitoring script.

. Richard Kooijman wrote the code to display a MIB tree on a canvas
  (as part of the tricklet package). 

. Andy <ayoder@fore.com> provided some patches for the MIB parser.

. Joergen Haegg <jh@axis.se> send some patches to improve portability.

. Peter J M Polkinghorne <Peter.Polkinghorne@gec-hrc.co.uk> provide some
  ideas that made processing of set operations `as if simultaneous' a
  bit easier.

. Graeme McKerrell <graemem@pdd.3com.com> provided some bug fixes.
              v
. Robert Premuz <rpremuz@malik.srce.hr> reported various bugs in the
  sources and the man page. He also helped to fix a couple of problems
  in the SNMP agent module.

. David Keeney <keeney@zk3.dec.com> send some patches for the USEC
  implementation and some 64 bit fixes for Digital UNIX V4.0.

. David Engel <david@ods.com> send some patches and ideas that
  improved the SNMP implementation.

. Mark J. Elkins <mje@mje99.posix.co.za> send some patched for the
  snmp_cisco.tcl script to upload/download cisco router config files.

. Peter Maersk-Moller <peter.maersk-moller@jrc.it> provided patches
  and enhancements for some of the tkined application scripts.

. Ron R.A.M. Sprenkels <sprenkel@cs.utwente.nl> found a couple of bugs
  and inconsistencies while trying to use scotty for an ATM project.

. Philip Hardin <philip_hardin@trigate.tri.sbc.com> send some patches
  for the GDMO parser to recognize the "SET-BY-CREATE" property.

. Martin F. Gergeleit <gergeleit@gmd.de> ported Sun's RPC sources to
  Windows NT and made it freely available.

. Aaron Dewell <dewell@woods.net> helped to debug some Linux/Sparc
  byteorder problems.

The Tkined network editor started as an experiment to rewrite an
already existing network editor called ined on top of the Tk/Tcl
toolkit.

. The original ined editor was written by Thomas Birke
  <birke@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de> and Hinnerk Ruemenapf <rueme@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de>
  using the InterViews toolkit.

. Guntram Hueske <hueske@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de> turned the stripchart and
  barchart Tcl code into C code that implements two new canvas items.
  Guntram also wrote an application called tkgraphs which inspired the
  GRAPH object type and the diagram window.

. Erik Schoenfelder <schoenfr@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de> contributed ideas that
  really improved the tkined interface. He is also a very good tester.

. Thanks to Brian Bartholomew <bb@math.ufl.edu> for some interesting
  proposals and Henning G. Schulzrinne <hgs@research.att.com> for some
  bug reports.

. Many thanks to Mark Weissman <weissman@gte.com> for making his emacs
  key bindings available, although they are not used anymore.

. Dieter Rueffler <dieter@prz.tu-berlin.de> proposed to integrate
  "hyperlinks" to remote tkined maps using URLs. The idea is now
  implemented as reference objects.

. Juergen Luksch <luksch@telenet.de> reported compilation problems on
  SCO machines and provided some suggestions on how to fix them.

. Detlev Habicht <habicht@ims.uni-hannover.de> provided some icons.

. Stefan Petri <petri@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de> reported some tricky bugs.

. Jim Madden <jmadden@ucsd.edu> send some patches to fix some bugs.

. John Rouillard <rouilj@cs.umb.edu> always sends very good bug and wish
  lists to the mailing list. This usually causes a lot of work but is
  always appreciated.

. Dan Razzell <razzell@cs.ubc.ca> send a patch to implement the ined 
  eval command which allows a script to play with internals from tkined.

Many thanks to all the bug reports and suggestions reported to me or 
the tkined mailing list.

7. Acknowledgements:
--------------------

The development of this software took place at the Technical University
of Braunschweig (Germany) and the University of Twente (The Netherlands).
Thanks to both Universities for allowing me to make these sources freely
available. Many thanks also to Optical Data Systems (http://www.ods.com)
for sponsoring the porting project to Windows NT.